Vegan says, “What?!”

by on

Realistically, about 30% or more of the food in your local market is not vegan (unless you’re super lucky!) You just walk up and down the aisles eyeing all the sweets and meats and chicken feets and either want some or find it frustrating and gross.

I know the feeling.

However, it turns out, a lot of delicious things are vegan, you just don’t know it… YET! That’s why you follow my blog, though. To learn about veganism and vegan options… and for the puppies.

collage

Here’s a list of some things you may not know are vegan:

1- Oreos! If you didn’t know this, you are clearly an amateur. I forgive you, but give me 12 *Oreo Push-Ups.

*Oreo Push-Ups = Lying on your stomach with your elbows on the ground. Push the Oreo up to your mouth using your elbow. Eat said Oreo. Be happy.

2- Ritz Crackers. Not as mind-blowing, but still pretty tasty. All that “buttery goodness” is fake. Don’t be fooled.

3- Unfrosted Pop Tarts? Also vegan. Fruit and dough, baby. All the way.

4- Goya Flan. Were you just craving some flan? Did you regret every choice you made leading up to the point when you could not ethically eat some? Goya’s got your back.

5- Nutter Butters. Cookies are on a roll! They know what you need.

6- Duncan Hines Creamy Homestyle Frosting. I’m not sure what makes it “Homestyle” but I do know it’s tasty on baked stuff. There are lots of vegan frosting options, just check the ingredients. Also, many Duncan Hines cake mixes are vegan, as well. Who knew? Me.

There are no eggs or dairy in: Classic Carrot, Moist Deluxe Butter Golden, Classic Yellow, Dark Chocolate Fudge, Devil’s Food, Fudge Marble, German Chocolate, Red Velvet, Swiss chocolate, Coconut Supreme, Lemon Supreme, Pineapple Supreme AND Strawberry Supreme.

7- Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup. Yep. Guzzle away.

8- Jello Instant Pudding Mix. The nasty, wobbly gelatin stuff is NOT vegan. However, Vanilla, Chocolate, Lemon, Pistachio, and Banana Creme puddings ARE vegan! Yay!

9- Smucker’s Marshmallow Topping. I couldn’t believe it, either. I had no idea. 100% of my life has been wasted because I didn’t know that there was a vegan marshmallow topping. Excuse me, I have to go to the store.

10- Betty Crocker’s Bac-O’s Bacon Flavour Bits. I am not sure I want to ever try these, but I know bacon is popular right now. Thus, I will not judge you for eating these. Not even a pinch of real meat in them. Sexy.

11- Pillsbury Crescent Rolls. Just when you thought you were crescent roll-free for life, Pillsbury saved you. Pop open a can, shove stuff inside these suckers, and eat like royalty.

12- Krispy Kreme Fruit Pies. Along with several other pre-packaged fruit pies, Krispy Kreme offers a vegan option for those of you who can’t live without Krisp Kreme. Cherry, apple, and peach are all vegan.

13- Teddy Grahams are in on it, too. The first and only time I’ve eaten Teddy Grahams was when I bought a 5 lb. bucket of them that came with a scoop. It was glorious. Of course, I had no friends, so I had to eat all 5 lbs. by myself.

I’m not proud of it… but, I am, actually.

14- Sara Lee Cherry and Apple Pie. If those mini pies aren’t cutting it, you can still buy a frozen pie and tell everyone you baked it yourself. I won’t tell.

15- Guinness. Did you even know Guinness wasn’t vegan? You probably didn’t even think about it. Don’t feel too bad! Fortunately, NOW Guinnesss IS vegan! If it’s all too much to handle, you can read this article and learn about how this all happened:

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/guinness-vegan-beer/story?id=34941744

HAPPY, HAPPY, JOY, JOY! Go eat like a cool kid, you’ve earned it!

You may also like